AISA Super Kings are ATPL winners

Ahmedabad Mirror / Updated: Feb 15, 2021, 11:31 IST


Super Kings created history by beating 4-time champion Super Stars Playing their first final in the Ahmedabad Tennis Premier League 2021, AISA Super Kings created history by beating four time champion ACTF Super Stars in a super tie-break to be declared the winners in the 6th season of ATPL on Sunday ATPL 2021.


ACTF Fantasticans beat Shaishya Stallions 4-0 to secure the 3rd position (second runner-up).

In the 1st singles Vishal Sevak of AISA Super Kings beat Vivek Goenka of ACTF Super Stars with comfortable score of 10-3; the 1st doubles Super Kings duo of Laval Bhatt-Pratik Rupareliya beat their opponents Mukesh Devani-Tejas Shah 8-5. ACTF Super Stars fought back in 2nd and 3rd doubles to defeat their rivals 9-4, 9-4. With both teams remaining at the same level, a super tie-break was followed to decide the champion. In the tiebreak, Vishal Sevak & Aalap Sharma easily crushed their rivals Darshan Shah & Parag Khatri with 10-2.

In the clash to decide the 3rd and 4th positions, three out of four games were close, with Shaishya Stallions fighting spiritedly before losing to ACTF Fantasticans. In the 1st singles, Santosh Osatwal beat Preyas Mehta (7- 6), the scores for the 2nd and 3rd doubles were also same with Ashish Patel-Jatin Shah & Yogesh Shah-Sachin Mastrulala beating Ajay Dhal-Kaushal Thirani & Aditya Sarabhai-Rajesh Jain respectively. In the 1st doubles, the teammates of ACTF Fantasticans won it easily against Rashmin Sadrani-Pankaj Arora with score 8-5.

Congratulating the champion team, Darshan Shah of ACTF Super Stars said that AISA players handled pressure and crucial point’s pretty well. “After being down in 2 matches in the first round, we put a lot of pressure on our next 2 teams, but they played like champions and brought us back into the tie. I must appreciate the grit and determination of AISA players who rose to the occasion and clinched the deciding tie-breaker.”

 Shah also congratulated Suresh Maurya and his team for making the tournament a success. Pratik Rupareliya, captain of the winning team, said, “Though our team players deserve all credit, but we had to fight for every point against a team that was playing in the final for the sixth time. We executed our plan well. All our players performed exceptionally well in the final as well as throughout the tournament.”

Suresh Maurya said, “The ATPL has become a local grand slam now, it’s a privilege for any team to win an ATPL title. Congratulations to Team AISA Super Kings for winning ATPL season 6.0! We congratulate participants of all 10 teams and 100+ players for the grand success of ATPL season 6.”